Pool League

Today’s topic is pool leagues. This is a touchy topic at times. Some people hate them others love them. Personally I enjoy our league. We are a non APA (American Poolplayers Association) traveling league. We have 12 teams at the moment playing out of a local pool hall and a few bars in the area. It is a 8-ball league that uses ball in hand rules for all fouls. We govern ourselves and so far it works pretty good.  Our league uses a handicap system that helps level the playing field a bit.

The handicap ranges from a 2 to a 6, so if I was a 6 and you were a 3 I would have to win 6 games before you win 3. Simple right? Our team at the moment is tied for 1st place but its still pretty early in the season. We have a range of players and we usually finish in the top 2.

I talk to allot of people that play on other leagues, mostly APA, and quite a few of them are always complaining.  Our league has it’s share of troubles to, but don’t let that sort of thing keep you from joining one. Joining a league is a great way to learn and hone your competitiveness. It’s also a very good way to see and use new products on the market.

Find yourself a team with like minded players. Some teams are solely focused on winning and could care less about anything else. On some teams winning takes a back seat to educating and developing players. And some teams are just there to kick back, have a few brews and get away from their significant other!  There is NOTHING wrong with any of these, in fact the only time there really becomes a problem is when someone joins a team that isn’t right for them. Why join a bunch of happy go lucky drinkers if that’s not what you like to do?

Hopefully I will keep regular updates on my pool league here.  (and maybe a few pics to!) Here are a few pics of me that made the front page of the paper. The local news guy did a human interest piece on me and my pool obsession er passion!

This year I have a renewed focus. I have recently came out of a semi-slump I was in and have since started a pretty good winning streak. I won the last two tournaments that I have played in, undefeated in pool league (so far!) and won a online competition with one of my trick shot videos. But my real success has been during my practice sessions. I am seeing patterns better than ever. The game has finally gotten smaller for me again, uncomplicated.  I am more fluid in my fundamentals and it has really paid off.

Anyways if you would like to join a league in your area and don’t know where to start here is a link to the APA’s web site,     Or you can check you local pool hall or taverns for information on what leagues you may have in the area. Already in a league? Post a comment on what you like or don’t like about it below. Whatever you decide, if you want to get better competition is key. It doesn’t matter if it’s league play, tournament play or matching up for cash. Get our their and test yourself, you may be surprised.

 

 

Leave a Reply

