Interview with Florian “VENOM” Kohler 2/8/12

When did you start doing trick shots?

.


I started  about 5 years ago now when I received an old 6 ft

table for my 18th birthday…

.

How did you get the name “Venom”?

.


Because I’m poisonous for the table (well especially the felt)

Thanks god I don’t have to pay my cloth anymore since I’m

sponsored by the Simonis cloth.

.

How many hours a day on average do you practice?

.

2hours of cuesport a day, pool, billiard, artistic or trick

shots. One of these .

.

One of the things  I have always liked about your videos is

your originality.  How do you manage to keep coming up

with new ideas for trick shots?

.

No idea, it just keeps flashing in my head every time I’m

practicing. Sometimes I even wake up the night, write

down a possible shot idea and get back to sleep. I also

always carry a paper book  so every time I got an idea I

can write it down and not forget it.

.

.

Who has been your biggest influence in artistic pool?


Definitely Mike Massey and especially Semih Sayginer.

What was your favorite part of making the “Venom

Trickshots” DVD ? (besides working with the model!)


The partner shots done with Nick King were definitely tons

of fun.  But generally the whole filming was very fun, I don’t

even call that work haha

What do you feel has been your proudest moment so far in

your pool career?


Being featured in Korea’s main sport channel in different

matches with Semih Sayginer and getting the perfect score

to win the trick shot contest. Being a part of the next pool

movie is also really really exciting.

.

.

Do you have any plans to make a instructional DVD or book?


Not for now…But I can already give you the info that a

venom Trickshots II is in our mind for the future…

.

.

How do you like preforming in the US? Any good stories?

.
This is just great. I travel and meet interesting people

everywhere, get new friends and do crazy things. I liked all

the places I’ve been but  recently I’ve done a show in the

66th floor of the Sears tower in Chicago. As for the greatest

shows I enjoyed, I had  recently an insane one in Iowa but

Wisconsin and California were also tons of fun.

I remember using the maximum I could on that diamond 7

foot table for the Christmas party of Riverside TAP. Instead

of 1h I ended up doing a 3h show, beating the highest jump

world record (not official yet, but recorded) and doing

some of my craziest stuff… Actually there are so many

stories it would be unfair to quote only one!

When you first started doing trick shot videos on you tube

you started by doing shots that were created by Mike

Massey, Tom Rossman and others. Now people are

imitating your shots, how does that make you feel?

.

This is always surprising and a great feeling. I’m so glad

being a part of the pool history already it’s a dream coming

true. No later than Sunday someone told me that the new

wave I put in Trick shots will surely be a thing that people

are going to remind for the century just like Mike Massey

did. I guess this was one of the best compliment I could

have got…

.

.

What would be your advice to someone wanting to start

a career in artistic pool?


Just enjoying what you are trying. Have fun. Compared to

regular pool which is , past a point, only pure work, trick

shot can remain fun when you’re creating. It’s only boring if

you practice the same shots over and over. Be creative and

that will start everything!!

.

.

What is your favorite part of preforming live?

.


I guess this is the people’s reaction when I succeed a crazy

shot.  When you can see this ‘light’ in people’s eyes and if

you see this light even in very good player’s eyes, well, that’s

totally priceless!! What I like too, is the challenge part of my

shows. Usually I have some people asking for a crazy shot

they have seen in a video and contrary to many of

professional, well I try to execute it. If it does work, you

have no idea how cool it is for people and for me!

.

.

What is the best way to order your video or book you

for a show?

.

My dvd is available on runoutmedia.com, the website of the

producer Nathan DuMoulin who also sells his new amazing

instructional sets of DVD break and run.

For shows and signed DVD, you can reach me through

my website: venomtrickshots.com. For direct contact, my

email address is venom68@hotmail.com

.

Thanks for giving me the chance of that interview and best of luck to the

viewers and the aspiring trick shots artists 😉



Leave a Reply

