Product Review— Philip Capelle’s A Mind For Pool

I bought this book awhile back and have read it twice. To be honest I think I need to read it a couple more times to really digest it all. Mr. Capelle does a decent job with this book. There are several gems in it that can help you with your mental game as is relates to pool. Personally I think he falls into the same trap as most pool instructional authors by user too much filler in his book but he gets the point across none the less.

Are you have trouble focusing while playing? Are you dogging critical shots? Are you dragged down by self imposed pressure? Well then, this may be the book for you. Philip fills his book with nearly 300 pages of self  help info and you’re sure to find something in there that will help your game.

His style of writing is just so so for me. Sometimes in the book he seems to carry on a bit much and hashes  out the same thing over and over. I felt this book would have been much better if it was condensed down to about 150 pages.  All in all, I though it was worth the read. Capelle does an excellent job of explaining the scientific side of the mental game. He also interjects a fair amount of  humor into his writings which I enjoy.  ( I get tired of dull and boring lecturing)

Capelle is also the author of play your best pool, which I consider a great book. (by far his best offering) On a scale of 1 – 10 I would give this a 7.5. I don’t think it’s the end all be all of the mental approach to pool but it is well worth the money.

If you find this book useful I would also like to suggest  a book called “The Inner Game Of Tennis”. It is quite possibly the best book I have ever read on the mental aspect of competing.

One response to “Product Review— Philip Capelle’s A Mind For Pool

  1. I have this book and read it a couple years back, in fact I was just thinking I really needed to read it again! However I think I will try the tennis book out now, I have always heard it is a great book on competing. Nice Post!

Leave a Reply

