Tip Tools

In this post I am going to cover several products I have bought in my search for the perfect tip tool.  I will only comment on the tools I have owned and used.

The Ultimate Tip Tool——-

NOT! In my opinion it is an ok scuffer but is not the all in one tool it claims to be. There are 2 main reasons I am not too fond of this tool. 1, the burnisher, while it does work  to some degree it can cause more harm than good if you are not careful in the way you do it, causing damage to the ferule. 2, the trimmer on the side of the tool. This device is meant to sand down the sides of your tip to make it flush with the ferule. WARNING, you run the risk of damaging your ferule when you do this.

Think about it, in order to get the tip flush with the ferule the sand paper will come in contact with the ferule. NOT GOOD. For this reason alone I have quit using this tool. Not to mention you have to buy replaceable pads for it.

I consider it to be a good tip shaper as far as the tip radius is concerned but that is about it.  I give it a  4 out of 10 rating.

The Kamui Gator Grip———

This little tool is the best thing I have found for scuffing the tip. What makes it so great is that you can scuff the tip without removing hardly any of the tips leather. Might not sound like a big deal,but when your favorite tip costs around 20 bucks, you want it to last as long as possible.  Since it uses metal instead of sandpaper it should last you a lifetime if used correctly. It’s surface is stainless steel that has laser cut ridges that are designed to agitate the fibers of the tip rather than completely remove them. It’s shell is made of hard wood, mine is ebony, and has a nice finish. It has a magnet in each corner  to keep it closed when not in use. It’s about the size of a credit card and fits nicely into my case.

Beware, it comes at a hefty price like most Kamui products. But when I consider the longevity of this product I don’t mind at all. There chalk however is another matter entirely.

Kamui says it’s the only tool you need to do proper maintenance to your tip. I disagree. This tool is only designed for scuffing. In my opinion there are other aspects of tip maintenance so it falls a little short of their all in one advertising. All things considered it  is a solid buy, I give it a 8 out of 10.

NOTE: When I bought mine they were $35.00, at the time of this writing 3 online stores had it for sale at 45.99. Personally I think this is too high, please keep in mind I wrote this based on my purchase price and not the current price.

Porper’s Tip Clamp

I don’t say this sort of thing very often but stay away from this piece of equipment. I had tried it several times and came to the conclusion that it is a poor design.

How it’s supposed to work:

1. Once you’ve prepped the ferule and tip you put the glue on the tip and place it on top of the ferule and quickly slide it into the clamp.

2. Slide the ring up to engage the clamp. This is supposed to center the tip onto the ferule.

3. Let dry and remove.

What really happens:

Tip never seems to be centered. Any excess glue will weld the tip and ferule to the clamp! I have ruined more tips trying to make this $15.00 mistake work. Avoid at all costs. You are much better off doing this process by hand. 0 out of 10

Sterling Home Repair Kit

Everything in here is total junk except for the shaft slicker. This kit was given to me by a well-meaning friend. While it is a very nice gesture I want you to know that it is a complete waste of money. Everything in this kit is made of the cheapest materials and are a complete waste of time. The tips are worthless uncompressed pieces of regular leather that will flatten out the first time they are used. The chalk is the worst I have seen. The tips clamp is cheap pot metal that will damaged your shaft when used. The glue is just a tube of Elmer’s glue. ETC.

In fact, if you are dead set on wanting this let me save you the expense, YOU CAN HAVE MINE!  0 out of 10

 Cue Cube and Shaft Slicker Combo

I got this as a freebee  from ordering a bunch of other stuff. The Cue Cube is a 2 in 1 deal. It’s a shaper and a scuffer. All in all it does a decent job at both tasks. I don’t really care for the scuffer part because I think it removes too much material and I prefer my Kamui Gator grip for scuffing. It will last a very long time though and if you can keep from loosing it, you will find that it comes in handy.

The leather piece is designed to be used as a shaft slicker. I use this as the last step in cleaning my cue shaft. It will make it smooth as glass and also can be used to burnish the sides of your tip. I have seen this sell between 5-10 bucks and is well worth it for those on a budget. I give it a 6 out of 10.

That’s all for now. I will post more when I get time.

Leave a Reply

