I’M BACK!

Sorry I have been gone so long. Life got in the way! I’ve got a lot to talk about since I have been gone. I have been working on my game, playing more tournaments and taking lessons from Mark Wilson.  I never stopped playing but with work, 2 kids in college and being involved in a non-for-profit organization it’s was too much to keep up with my blog. But I have a little more free time now and I will try to get back to blogging on a somewhat regular basis.

TOURNAMENTS

I have been trying to play in a variety of tournaments this last year. I am mainly interested in 9 ball or 10 ball although I have played in a few 8 ball events. Unfortunately the amount of people that know how to run a good tournament in my area are few and far between. Often there are to few tables vs the amount of players or in some cases I have been to tournaments where the person running it had 10 tables at his disposal but only used 2 or 3 at a time and really dragged out the event.

Here is what I look for now. Diamond tables and lots of them. Reasonable entry fee and green fee, I don’t want to feed quarters into a table all night long. A tournament director that knows how to keep things moving, don’t waste my time and I wont waste your. That’s it really. I don’t  need much beyond that. I prefer a clean non smoking venue but it’s not a deal breaker.

I have done fairly well at the tournaments I have been in lately although I haven’t won any in the last 6 months. I was cruising undefeated through a 9 ball event but had to leave due to my wife’s poorly timed illness. 😦  I am planning on playing a big event in 2 weeks. There are supposed to be a lot of strong players in this one so it will give me a chance to see where I stand in that area.

I have been training hard for this 9 ball tournament. For me this one isn’t about winning. I just want to go there a really play my best. I don’t care if I am 2 and out if I play strong. But I do feel that if I bring my best game I will be able to land in the top 5. Time will tell. I will let you know how it goes.

Later today I will post my practice regimen, stay tuned… it’s a workout!

Leave a Reply

